Game Rules

Zodiac War is quick to learn and logical to play. Every game is different, and you never know what strategy your opponents will adopt.

Phase 1 – Read your Horoscope

Your turn starts by drawing a Zodiac Card and reading your horoscope. A planet will enter your sign and your turn will begin. You horoscope may bring good or bad omens.

Phase 2 – Rotate the Heavens

Now you can rotate the board. To rotate the board you play Tarot Cards. The Tarot deck includes 78 cards just like a normal tarot deck, and each card either helps you generate faith or to rotate the board. Rings may only be rotated clockwise (unless a card or sun sign power says otherwise). 

By astute manipulation of the game board you receive Faith tokens, the game’s currency, as described in Phase 3 ‘Collect Faith’. If you achieve a perfect alignment by aligning both your planet and element with your sun sign you can either receive faith tokens or choose to buy a star crystal. The goal of the game is to buy star crystals to illuminate your constellation.

Phase 3 – Collect Faith or Buy Star Crystals

When you complete Phase 2, you collect Faith based on the alignment of planets and elements with your star sign, as follows.

Star sign aligned with your element = 2 faith
Star sign aligned with planet = 4 faith
Star sign aligned with both element and planet = 8 faith or alternatively you can buy a star crystal

Faith tokens must be placed in front of you in clear view of other players. 


Phase 4 – Buy Tarot Cards

In Phase 4 you may replenish you hand by buying Tarot cards for 2 faith each..


Phase 5 – End Your Turn

You confirm to other players that you have completed all your actions, you discard any cards played and then end your turn, handing to the next player on your left.